stay current full of ideas
The Best Lawyers In America® 2013
Thirty-four Poyner Spruill Attorneys Selected by Their Peers for Inclusion


​RALEIGH, NC -- Poyner Spruill today announced that 34 of its attorneys were recently selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® 2013 (Copyright 2012 by Woodward/White, Inc., Aiken, S.C.).

Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 36,000 leading attorneys cast almost 4.4 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor.

The Poyner Spruill attorneys named to the 2013 list and the areas in which they have been recognized are as follows:

Randall R. Adams (Insurance Law)
Haywood A. Barnes (Banking and Finance Law)
William T. Belcher (Trusts and Estates)
Christopher P. Brewer (Health Care Law)
Nancy C. Brower (Employee Benefits ERISA Law)
Kenneth L. Burgess (Health Care Law)
William S. Cherry, Jr. (Banking and Finance Law, Financial Services Regulation Law and Real Estate Law)
Joseph B. ”Bo” Dempster, Jr. (Corporate Law and Real Estate Law and Banking and Finance Law))
David Dreifus (Commercial Litigation and Litigation – Banking & Finance)
H. Glenn T. Dunn (Administrative/Regulatory Law, Environmental Law, Litigation – Environmental and  Water Law)
Thomas D. “Del” Eatman, Jr. (Real Estate Law)
J. Nicholas Ellis (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Litigation - Municipal, Litigation – Real Estate and Commercial Litigation)
David R. Fricke (Real Estate Law)
Lemuel H. “Chip” Gibbons III (Tax Law and Mergers & Acquisitions)
Susanna K. Gibbons (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management and Litigation – Labor & Employment)
Eugene S. Griggs (Employee Benefits Law)
Cecil W. Harrison, Jr. (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Employment Law –Management and Litigation - Labor & Employment)
Keith H. Johnson (Environmental Law and Litigation - Environmental)
Samuel W. Johnson (Corporate Law)
T. Richard Kane (Environmental Law and Litigation - Environmental)
James S. “Charlie” Livermon, III (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
David W. Long (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Criminal Defense: Non-White-Collar, Criminal Defense: White-Collar, Litigation - Antitrust, Litigation – Securities and Trusts and Estates)
Frank P. Meadows, Jr. (Tax Law)
E. Fitzgerald “Jerry” Parnell III (Criminal Defense: White-Collar and Legal Malpractice Law - Defendants)
Steven M. Shaber (Administrative/Regulatory Law and Health Care Law)
John L. Shaw (Construction Law and Litigation - Construction)
William R. Shenton (Health Care Law)
Timothy P. Sullivan (Environmental Law and Litigation - Environmental)
Lisa P. Sumner (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
David L. Terry (Employment Law – Management)
Cynthia L. Van Horne (Legal Malpractice Law)
David M. Warren (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
Thomas R. West (Administrative/Regulatory Law)
David L. Woodard (Litigation - Labor & Employment)
Communication Agreement

I understand and agree that Poyner Spruill LLP will have no obligation to keep confidential the information that I am now sending to the firm.