RALEIGH, NC, AUGUST 15, 2017 — Poyner Spruill announced today that 30 of its attorneys were recently selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® 2018.

Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers® has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. The selection process for Best Lawyers requires an intense peer-review survey that includes over 7.4 million confidential evaluations submitted by top attorneys. Lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed; therefore inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor.

The Poyner Spruill attorneys named to the 2018 list and the areas in which they have been recognized are as follows:

Randall R. Adams (Insurance Law)

Christopher P. Brewer (Health Care Law and Litigation – Health Care)

Nancy C. Brower (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law)

Kenneth L. Burgess (Health Care Law)

Daniel G. Cahill (Commercial Litigation)

William S. Cherry, Jr. (Banking and Finance Law, Financial Services Regulation Law, and Real Estate Law)

Michael S. Colo (Mergers and Acquisitions Law)

Joseph B. ”Bo” Dempster, Jr. (Banking and Finance Law, Corporate Law, and Real Estate Law)

David Dreifus (Commercial Litigation and Litigation – Banking and Finance)

  1. Glenn T. Dunn (Administrative/Regulatory Law, Environmental Law, Litigation – Environmental, and Water Law)

Thomas D. “Del” Eatman, Jr. (Real Estate Law)

  1. Nicholas Ellis (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Litigation – Municipal, and Litigation – Real Estate)

Lemuel H. “Chip” Gibbons III (Mergers and Acquisitions Law and Tax Law)

Susanna K. Gibbons (Employment Law – Management, Labor Law – Management, and Litigation – Labor and Employment)

Eugene S. Griggs (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law)

Cecil W. Harrison, Jr. (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Employment Law – Management, and Litigation – Labor and Employment)

  1. Todd Hemphill (Health Care Law)

*Keith H. Johnson (Environmental Law and Litigation – Environmental)

Samuel W. Johnson (Corporate Law)

  1. Richard Kane (Environmental Law and Litigation – Environmental)

James S. “Charlie” Livermon (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law)

David W. Long (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Criminal Defense: General Practice, Criminal Defense: White-Collar, Litigation – Antitrust, Litigation – Securities, and Litigation – Trusts and Estates)

  1. Fitzgerald “Jerry” Parnell III (Criminal Defense: White-Collar and Legal Malpractice Law – Defendants)

Steven M. Shaber (Administrative/Regulatory Law and Health Care Law)

John L. Shaw (Construction Law and Litigation – Construction)

William R. Shenton (Health Care Law)

Timothy P. Sullivan (Environmental Law and Litigation – Environmental)

David L. Terry (Employment Law – Management)

Cynthia L. Van Horne (Legal Malpractice Law – Defendants)

David L. Woodard (Litigation – Labor and Employment)

*Additionally, Keith H. Johnson has been named Best Lawyers 2018® Lawyer of the Year in Raleigh in the practice area of Environmental Law.

◀︎ Back to All News
What you Need to Know

Recent News


Best Lawyers in America honors 25 Poyner Spruill attorneys across wide range of practice areas

August 15, 2019
Read More

Poyner Spruill Partner Joseph Smith authors Financial Times article on need for more auditing firms to be involved in financial industry oversight

August 9, 2019
Read More

Poyner Spruill’s Summer Associate Program concludes with positive experiences for Hill, Little, and Morris

August 9, 2019
Read More

Poyner Spruill paralegal Joanna King appointed to North Carolina Bar Association’s Appellate Rules Committee

July 25, 2019
Read More